OUR HIGHLIGHTS OF THE YEAR 2021

ANNUAL REVIEW OF THE TIB – LEIBNIZ INFORMATION CENTRE FOR TECHNOLOGY AND NATURAL SCIENCES AND UNIVERSITY LIBRARY
[Translate to Englisch:]

QUICKLINKS

[Translate to Englisch:]

DEAR READERS,

Be it on site at the library in contact with users or in virtual meetings working from home – we at TIB also managed to cope with the challenges during the second year of the pandemic. But of course 2021 had much more in store for TIB than the coronavirus pandemic: the appointment of Dr Maria-Esther Vidal as Professor of Scientific Data Management at Leibniz Universität Hannover, many new, exciting projects, a new design for our website, “ORKG Curation Grants”, which we awarded for the first time, and of course lots of successful events.

Yours,

Sören Auer
Director of TIB

 

ON THE LOVE OF CRAFTMANSHIO AND THE ENJOYMENT OF TEACHING AN INTERVIEW WITH INES THIELE

Bookbinding was added to the UNESCO Inventory of Intangible Cultural Heritage in 2021. TIB also contributes to the continued existence of this craft – the library has been training people to become bookbinders since 1977.
In an interview, Ines Thiele, master bookbinder and Head of TIB’s Bookbindery, talks about her work, her love of the craft, and how her occupation has changed over the decades.

TIB → You started training to become a bookbinder 44 years ago, and for the last twelve years you have been head of TIB’s bookbindery, where you now train others to become bookbinders. How much has changed in your occupation and the tasks involved over time?

Thiele → Our task of protecting and preserving the library’s collections by rebinding and repairing books has not changed to this day. The working methods have also remained the same. But over the years, of course, the machines have been modernised and made safer. At TIB, we are at the cutting edge of technology, and have always been able to adapt our machines and equipment to meet requirements. The cutting machine has a touch display; cutting programmes can be accessed directly. We no longer write shelf marks on a typewriter, as was the case in the past: the barcode is scanned, processed on the computer, and then printed out by a thermal transfer printer.

What has definitely changed are the materials. Some pasting papers are no longer produced nowadays, and what was once an extensive choice of colours has now shrunk to just three: black, grey and beige. These days, the text paper is coated so that the pages of a book do not absorb liquids so quickly – essentially, a good attribute. But it makes our work more difficult: the glue does not stick to the pages as well. For most books, we now have to roughen the spine to increase the surface area so that the glue adheres better and can hold the pages in place. Despite these changes, the everyday life of a contemporary craft bookbinder is still comparable to that of 100 years ago.

Go to interview

 

 

LAUNCH OF THREE NEW OPEN ACCESS PROJECTS TIB RECIEVES FUNDING FOR PROJECTS TO SPEED UP THE TRANSFORMATION TO OPEN ACCESS

Open access, free access to scientific and scholarly publications, is a requirement for fast scientific progress. Most researchers, scientific institutions and funding agencies agree that open access should be the normal state of scholarly publishing. But there is still a long way to go. To build sustained momentum, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) is funding projects to speed up the transformation to open access.

Three undertakings submitted by TIB and various partners have now received BMBF funding to help bring about a shift in publishing: B!SON, a recommendation service for quality-assured open access journals; the KOALA project for collaborative solutions for financing open access; and OPTIMETA, which is dedicated to strengthening the open access publishing system by integrating open citations and geospatial data.

Go to article

SPEED DATING WITH SCIENCE EXPERTS ANSWER QUESTIONS ON TOPICS THAT TOUCH EVERYDAY LIFE

The virtual discussion format “Book a Scientist” gives interested people the opportunity to talk to an expert from the Leibniz Association for 25 minutes and ask anything they ever wanted to know about a particular topic.

More than 150 scientists take part in the speed dating with science event, including five experts from TIB. They answer questions about science videos, open and free educational resources, digital education certificates, open science, and much more besides.

DIGITAL PLACE LOWER SAXONY 2021

The Research Data Management Support Service and the Data Repository of Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH) received the “Digitaler Ort Niedersachsen 2021” (Digital Place Lower Saxony 2021) award. The Lower Saxony Ministry of Economic Affairs, Employment, Transport and Digitalisation presents this award to initiatives, projects or institutions that actively contribute to the digital transformation in Lower Saxony. TIB has been collaborating cross-institutionally with LUH in the area of research data management for quite some time now: over this period, a team of colleagues from TIB and LUH have been establishing a range of services for the management of research data.

Go to article
[Translate to Englisch:]
5
SITES
[Translate to Englisch:]
25,687
AKTIVE USERS
[Translate to Englisch:]
325
TRAINING SESSIONS
WITH 6,604 PARTICIPANTS

RESEARCH DATA SYSTEMATICALLY MAKING RESEARCH DATA ACCESSIBLE AND REUSABLE

Data is produced in all academic disciplines – through surveys, experiments, measurements or the analysis of historical sources. Research data can take many different forms: tables, text documents, photos, videos and databases, to name but a few. Data is a valuable resource for science. After all, open and freely accessible data provides a wealth of information. Not only can data can be used by other researchers, it also makes research results transparent and reproducible, and saves a great deal of time, money and effort.

TIB has been involved in this field for years in an effort to define worldwide standards. One example is the allocation of Digital Object Identifiers (DOI), unique identifiers for research data. And this involvement has been highly successful. After all, just as users rely on the ISBN to identify books, the DOI is now relied on to identify research data and other digital objects.

 

 

RESEARCH DATA IN FIGURES

→ Total DOI names allocated by DataCite: 35.9 million
→ DOI names allocated by DataCite in 2021: 5.9 million
→ DOI names allocated by TIB DOI Consortium in 2021: 133,794
→ Members of the TIB DOI Consortium: 112

WHAT IF ... ... WE WERE TO EXPLAIN THE WIDE VARIETY OF TOPICS ADDRESSED BY TIB IN A SIMPLE AND CONCISE WAY

This is precisely what TIB does in its new format “WAS, WENN ...?” (What if …?)

Brief introductions to several TIB topics are available at waswenn.tib.eu: from enhanced knowledge sharing through knowledge graphs, the importance of Big Data in medicine and the wealth of data in research, to the question of how digital data can be made accessible for the next thousand years.

THREE QUESTIONS PUT TO ... … DR ALEXANDER PÖCHE

As Head of Licence Management, Dr. Alexander Pöche has been responsible for licences at TIB since 2014. In this interview, he explains what exactly his tasks are, and the important role that licences play for libraries.

 

 

TIB → Licences play a particularly important role for libraries. After all, besides being home to thousands of books on their shelves, libraries also have an increasing number of databases, electronic journals and electronic books in their collections. Could you tell us what these media have to do with the topic of licences?

Pöche → When you purchase a printed book or journal, there are clear rules about what a library can do with these items. This is not the case with electronic media, for which libraries acquire rights of use. These rights must be defined and set out in a licence, i.e. an agreement between the rights holder – usually a publisher – and the library.

 

TIB → And what exactly are your and your colleagues’ tasks in this area, as well as those of TIB in general?

Pöche → Our task is to reach licensing agreements with commercial and society publishers. This involves obtaining offers, assessing costs in relation to the rights of use granted, checking contract drafts and, of course, continuously negotiating improvements. Given that we are not only a university library, but also a national specialised library, we have very specific needs regarding rights of use. Together with the sheer volume of content from multiple providers across the world, this is what makes licensing agreements so complex. Of course, Licence Management is not the only unit involved in this process. We work in close cooperation with various teams from the Acquisitions and Cataloguing Department.

 

TIB → Looking back, how has the importance of licences changed in day-to-day operations at the library? And, of even greater interest: How will their importance change in the years to come, and what impact will these developments have on the mission of TIB?

Pöche → Print is considered outdated, at least in the disciplines served by TIB. Nowadays, many providers offer electronic products only; customers want digital content, and TIB also has an e-preferred strategy. We have long moved on from the days when a digital version was issued as an add-on to a print copy. The acquisition process has become considerably more complicated, and greater demands are placed on staff. The delivery of content also increases in complexity. To ensure that all library users know what they are allowed to do with a particular electronic book or electronic version of a journal, the licence information, i.e. the rights of use, must be documented and communicated.

To draw another comparison with print items: If you buy 100 printed books, you can use all of them in the same way. But when you buy 100 electronic books and you are out of luck, you might end up with 100 different licence agreements with varying rights of use.

It is extremely exciting to look to the future. The transformation to Open Access has clearly gained momentum. The number of freely available journals, conference proceedings and books will steadily increase. As a result, the need for licences from publishers will decline again, but will likely not disappear altogether. Products that are not affected by the transformation to Open Access will continue to exist, especially certain types of databases; these types of products will still need to be licensed.

And even if the number of licence negotiations drops at some point, as long as commercial providers exist, there will be a need to negotiate with them – probably less frequently about licences, but instead about services in the publication process and how these are financed.

The transformation to Open Access, or rather the desired result of the process, does of course not only affect the area of licensing, but the entirety of TIB. The free availability of specialist information creates completely new needs among researchers, and TIB must respond to these needs with a stronger focus on services.

EVERYTHING FROM A SINGLE SOURCE TIB'S CONFERENCE SERVICES

Enhanced visibility for conferences, meetings, symposia and workshops: TIB offers conference organisers an all-round carefree package of comprehensive services. These services include the TIB Conference Recording Service, which offers the video recording, production and live streaming of conference presentations at events; the publication of recordings on the AV-Portal; and the open access publishing platform TIB Open Publishing, which can be used to publish scientific journals and conference publications open access.

Go to article
[Translate to Englisch:]

VIDAL IST APPOINTED PORFESSOR AT LEIBNIZ UNIVERSITÄT HOW THE POTENTIAL OF DATA CAN BE USED TO SOLVE SOCIETAL CHALLENGES

Dr Maria-Esther Vidal was appointed Professor of “Scientific Data Management” at the Institute of Distributed Systems, based at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science of Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH) on 1 August 2021.

CONGRATULATIONS!

Vidal conducts research on the management of Big Data, and highlights the opportunities that data analysis offers for medicine, the life sciences, and industry. The computer scientist Professor Dr Maria-Esther Vidal has been leading the “Scientific Data Management” research group at TIB – Leibniz Information Centre for Science and Technology since 2017; she is also a member of the L3S Research Centre at LUH.

Go to article
98
EXTERNALLY FUNDED PROJECTS
OF WHICH EU PROJECTS: 23
EXTERNAL FUNDING RAISED
25.3 MILLION EURO
245
PROJECT PARTNERS

PROTECTING ORIGINALS, PROVIDING ACCESS PREPARING THE SUPPLEMENTARY MATERIALS OF THE ENCYCLOPAEDIA CINEMATOGRAPHICA

The Encyclopaedia Cinematographica includes approximately 2,000 scientific ethnological films from the early 20th century to the 1980s that show cultural customs such as music and dance, religion and traditional healing, and much more besides. In addition to these films, the collection also includes extensive supplementary material: 300 file folders containing editorial and production files, supplementary publications in the form of more than 100 file folders, 3,500 loose-leaf booklets as well as photo archives with hundreds of photos, negatives and slides. “The supplementary materials are really quite something, given that they contain the making-of the films, i.e. essential information that helps us to understand the films better. Supplementary materials and films belong together, like two sides of the same coin,” explains Miriam Reiche, conservator and conservation coordinator at TIB.

Unfortunately, the ability to use the supplementary materials is very limited at present – the files are very fragile, having been stored inappropriately for decades, and can only be viewed under strict conditions. The Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media is now funding a project that aims to protect the materials from further damage by repackaging them: the materials will be “demetallised” – paper clips and staples that damage the paper will be removed – and repackaged in archival-quality packaging. “This is the first step towards making these culturally and historically important materials accessible to researchers,” enthuses Thomas Bähr, Head of Preservation and Digital Preservation at TIB.

The films contained in the Encyclopaedia Cinematographica have already been digitised, and are available on TIB’s AV-Portal.

NEW DESIGN FOR TIB WEBSITE RELAUNCH WITH BETTER NAVIGATION AND A NEW LAYOUT

It has been more than five years since TIB underwent a makeover – a new corporate design. That was in 2016, when the library became a foundation. Now, once again, the TIB website features a new design. A lot has happened since 2016: TIB increasingly champions openness in its outlook – open science. Fields of research have been established and developed, the transformation to open access has progressed, many new services and offers, such as the AV-Portal, the conference recording service ConRec, the open access publishing platform TIB Open Publishing, and the OER portal twillo for open and free educational resources, have been created or further developed. All these developments have been considered in the redesign of the TIB website.

Why not check it out? www.tib.eu

PUSHING THE BUTTON HOW USERS MAKE USE OF THE PAUSE FUNCTION IN LEARNING VIDEOS

How do you calculate the oxygen content of water? How does the European Union work? These and many other questions are addressed in countless videos on various internet platforms, the most prominent of which is YouTube. And yet how do people use these educational videos? In the context of an interdisciplinary research project, scientists at the Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien (IWM), the German Institute for Adult Education (DIE) and TIB have gained first insights into when and why users of online video platforms push the pause button.

AUTHENTIC USAGE DATA AS A MILESTONE FOR FUTURE RESEARCH

Using authentic video usage data from TIB’s AV-Portal, the researchers investigated when and, above all, why users pause educational videos. The outcome: at particularly complicated passages and between different content sequences. The study findings can be incorporated into the conceptual design of educational videos: by setting automatic pauses or inserting comprehension questions at suitable video sequences, complex content can be presented in a way that is easier for users to understand.

Go to article

 

 

 

#vBIB21: DIGITAL COMMUNITIES IT TAKES TWO EDITIONS TO MAKE A SERIES: TIB AND BIB HOST ANOTHER #vBIB VIRTUAL CONFERENCE

The second edition of #vBIB started on 1/2 December 2021. This time, the virtual conference is all about “Digital Communities”. A brief excerpt from the programme for the 300 participants: R. David Lankes, Professor of Librarianship at the University of Texas, spoke about “New Librarianship and Our Better Angels”. As a passionate advocate of librarians, he addressed their role in today’s society and showed how their tasks have changed in recent years and how they will continue to change in the future. In one session, copyright and freedom of communication expert and former European Parliament member Felix Reda discussed the framework conditions for action in digital communities, and in another, Alexander Möller from Wikimedia spoke about the diversity of worldwide global communities at Wikimedia.

The second edition of #vBIB saw the addition of two new interactive formats: Speakers’ Corner and Tech Corner. Speakers’ Corner offers space for short presentations, concept ideas, theses, questions and answers, discussions and much more on the topic of digital communities; Tech Corner is all about web services, tools, software and mock-ups for participating in communities and supporting community building and management.

You missed the #vBIB21? No problem! You can watch the contributions in the TIB AV-Portal.

TIB-PITCH WITH ANNA-LENA LORENZ HOW TIB SEEKS TO REVOLUTIONISE THE TRANSFER OF KNOWLEDGE WITH THE ORKG

New forms of knowledge exchange in research: Scholarly work is – as it was in the last centuries – still mainly communicated through publications in the form of texts. Considering the continuously increasing number of publications, researchers are finding it increasingly difficult to keep track of the scientific literature that is relevant to them. The Open Research Knowledge Graph aims to address this problem by describing scholarly work in a structured way, making the actual contents and not only the bibliographic metadata of the papers human-readable as well as machine-actionable and FAIR (i.e., findable, accessible, interoperable, and reusable).

Start video

 

A major success: results of TIB’s first “ORKG Curation Grant” programs

In 2021, nine researchers from the fields of science and technology curated content for the Open Research Knowledge Graph (ORKG), promoting open science in their respective fields.

Go to article

 

THE TIB ANNUAL REPORT 2021 AS PDF

arrow-left arrow-right arrow

UNSERE HIGHLIGHTS DES JAHRES 2021

JAHRESRÜCKBLICK DER TIB - LEIBNIZ-INFORMATIONSZENTRUM TECHNIK UND NATURWISSENSCHAFTEN UND UNIVERSITÄTSBIBLIOTHEK

SCHNELLEINSTIEG

LIEBE LESER:INNEN,

ob in der Bibliothek vor Ort im Kontakt mit den Nutzer:innen oder vom heimischen Schreibtisch in virtuellen Meetings, wir als TIB haben auch im zweiten Pandemiejahr die Herausforderungen gemeistert.

Aber natürlich war das Jahr 2021 für die TIB viel mehr als Corona: Da waren etwa die Berufung von Prof. Dr. Maria-Esther Vidal zur Professorin für Scientific Data Management an die Leibniz Universität Hannover, viele spannende Projekte, ein neues Design für unseren Webauftritt, die erstmals von uns vergebenen „ORKG Curation Grants“ sowie zahlreiche erfolgreiche Veranstaltungen.

Ihr

Sören Auer
Direktor der TIB

 

ÜBER DIE LIEBE ZUM HANDWERK UND DIE FREUDE AM AUSBILDEN IM INTERVIEW: INES THIELE

Seit 2021 ist das Buchbinderhandwerk Immaterielles UNESCO-Kulturerbe. Die TIB trägt ihren Teil dazu bei, dass es das Handwerk noch gibt – sie bildet seit 1977 Buchbinder:innen aus.
Im Interview spricht Ines Thiele, Buchbindermeisterin und Leiterin der Buchbinderei der TIB, über ihre Arbeit, die Liebe zum Handwerk und die Veränderungen in den letzten Jahrzehnten in ihrem Beruf.

TIB → Vor 44 Jahren haben Sie Ihre Ausbildung zur Buchbinderin begonnen, seit zwölf Jahren leiten Sie nun die Buchbinderei der TIB und bilden dort auch aus. Wie sehr haben sich der Beruf und die Aufgaben in dieser Zeit verändert?

Thiele → Unsere Aufgabe, den Bestand der Bibliothek durch Neubindungen und Reparaturen zu sichern, hat sich bis heute nicht geändert. Auch die Arbeitsweisen sind die gleichen geblieben. Aber im Laufe der Jahre sind natürlich die Maschinen moderner und sicherer geworden. Da sind wir in der TIB auf dem neuesten Stand und konnten unsere Maschinen und Geräte immer den Anforderungen anpassen. Die Schneidemaschine hat ein Touch-Display; die Schneidprogramme können direkt abgerufen werden. Wir schreiben die Signaturen nicht mehr wie früher auf der Schreibmaschine: Der Barcode wird eingescannt, am Computer bearbeitet und von einem Thermotransfer-Drucker ausgedruckt.

Was sich sehr wohl geändert hat, sind die Materialien. Verschiedene Bezugspapiere werden heute nicht mehr hergestellt und von der ehemals großen Farbpalette gibt es nur noch drei Farben: Schwarz, Grau und Beige. Das Textpapier ist heute beschichtet, sodass die Seiten der Bücher Flüssigkeiten nicht so schnell aufnehmen – prinzipiell eine gute Eigenschaft. Aber ein Nachteil für uns: Die Seiten nehmen auch den Leim schlechter an. Wir müssen jetzt bei den meisten Büchern die Rücken aufrauen, um die Oberfläche zu vergrößern, damit der Leim besser anhaftet und die Seiten halten können. Trotz dieser Veränderungen ist der Alltag eines Handwerksbuchbinders heute immer noch vergleichbar mit dem vor 100 Jahren.

Zum Interview

STARTSCHUSS FÜR DREI NEUE OPEN-ACCESS-PROJEKTE TIB ERHÄLT FÖRDERUNG FÜR VORHABEN ZUR BESCHLEUNIGUNG DER OPEN-ACCESS-TRANSFORMATION

Open Access, der freie Zugang zu wissenschaftlichen Publikationen, ist eine Voraussetzung für schnellen wissenschaftlichen Fortschritt. Die meisten Forschenden, wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen und Förderer sind sich einig: Open Access sollte der Normalzustand des wissenschaftlichen Publizierens sein. Der Weg dorthin ist jedoch noch weit. Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) fördert deshalb Projekte, die die Open-Access-Transformation beschleunigen.

Drei von der TIB und verschiedenen Partner:innen eingereichte Vorhaben werden vom BMBF gefördert, um zum Wandel des Publikationswesens beizutragen: der Empfehlungsservice B!SON für qualitätsgesicherte Open-Access-Zeitschriften, das Projekt KOALA für gemeinschaftliche Lösungen zur Open-Access-Finanzierung und OPTIMETA zu Stärkung des Open-Access-Publikationssystems durch die Einbindung offener Zitationen und Geoinformationen.

Zum Artikel

SPEED DATING MIT DER WISSENSCHAFT WER NICHT FRAGT, BLEIBT DUMM – EXPERT:INNEN GEBEN ANTWORTEN

Beim virtuellen Gesprächsformat „Book a Scientist“ können Interessierte sich 25 Minuten lang mit einer Expertin oder einem Experten der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft austauschen und alles fragen, was sie schon immer zu einem bestimmten Thema wissen wollten.

Mehr als 150 Wissenschaftler:innen sind beim Speed Dating mit der Wissenschaft dabei, darunter fünf Expert:innen der TIB. Sie beantworten Fragen zu wissenschaftlichen Videos, offenen und freien Bildungsmaterialien, digitalen Bildungszertifikaten, offener Wisschenschaft und vielem mehr.

DIGITALER ORT NIEDERSACHSEN 2021

Der Beratungsservice Forschungsdatenmanagement und das Datenrepositorium der Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH) erhalten die Auszeichnung „Digitaler Ort Niedersachsen 2021“. Damit ehrt das Niedersächsische Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Arbeit, Verkehr und Digitalisierung Initiativen, Projekte oder Einrichtungen, die aktiv zum digitalen Wandel in Niedersachsen beitragen. Die TIB arbeitet bereits seit Längerem einrichtungsübergreifend mit der LUH im Bereich Forschungsdatenmanagement zusammen: ein Team aus Kolleg:innen der TIB und der LUH hat in dieser Zeit verschiedene Dienste für den Umgang mit Forschungsdaten aufgebaut.

Zum Artikel
5
STANDORTE
25.687
AKTIVE NUTZER:INNEN
325
SCHULUNGEN
MIT 6.604 TEILNEHMENDEN

FORSCHUNGSDATEN DATENSCHÄTZE FÜR DIE FORSCHUNG SYSTEMATISCH ERSCHLIESSEN UND NUTZBAR MACHEN

In jeder wissenschaftlichen Disziplin entstehen Daten – durch Befragungen, Experimente, Messungen oder die Auswertung historischer Quellen. Diese Forschungsdaten können ganz verschiedene Formen haben: Tabellen, Textdokumente, Fotografien, Videos, Datenbanken und vieles mehr. Sie sind eine wertvolle Ressource für die Wissenschaft. Denn offene und frei zugängliche Daten sind wahre Datenschätze. Sie können von anderen Forschenden genutzt werden, machen Forschungsergebnisse transparent und nachvollziehbar und sparen sehr viel Geld, Zeit und Arbeit.

Die TIB engagiert sich seit vielen Jahren in diesem Bereich, um weltweite Standards zu definieren. Zum Beispiel bei der Vergabe von Digital Object Identifiern (DOI), eindeutigen Identifikatoren für Forschungsdaten. Und das mit Erfolg: Denn was die ISBN für Bücher ist, ist der DOI inzwischen für Forschungsdaten und andere digitale Objekte.

 

 

 

FORSCHUNGSDATEN IN ZAHLEN

→ insgesamt von DataCite vergebene DOI-Namen: 35,9 Mio. 
→ 2021 von DataCite vergebene DOI-Namen: 5,9 Mio.
→ davon vom TIB DOI Konsortium registrierte DOIs: 133.794  
→ Konsortialmitglieder im TIB DOI Konsortium: 112

WAS, WENN ... ... WIR DIE BUNTE THEMENVIELFALT DER TIB KURZ UND KNAPP VORSTELLEN?

Genau das macht die TIB mit dem neuen Format „WAS, WENN ...?“

Unter waswenn.tib.eu gibt es kurze Einleitungen zu verschiedenen TIB-Themen: angefangen beim verbesserten Wissensaustausch durch Wissensgraphen über die Bedeutung von Big Data in der Medizin und Datenschätze in der Forschung bis hin zu der Frage, wie digitale Daten für die nächsten tausend Jahre zugänglich gemacht werden können.

DREI FRAGEN AN … … DR. ALEXANDER PÖCHE

Als Leiter des Referats Lizenzen ist Dr. Alexander Pöche seit 2014 an der TIB für Lizenzen verantwortlich. Was genau seine Aufgaben sind und welche Bedeutung Lizenzen für eine Bibliothek haben, erklärt er in diesem Interview.

 

 

TIB → Für Bibliotheken spielen Lizenzen eine besondere Rolle, denn neben den tausenden Büchern im Regal gibt es immer mehr Datenbanken, elektronische Zeitschriften und E-Books. Verraten Sie uns doch, was diese Medien mit dem Thema Lizenzen zu tun haben.

Pöche → Wenn man ein gedrucktes Buch oder eine gedruckte Zeitschrift kauft, ist von vornherein klar geregelt, was man damit als Bibliothek machen darf. Bei elektronischen Medien sieht das hingegen anders aus. Hier erwirbt man in erster Linie Nutzungsrechte und diese müssen in einer Lizenz – also einer Vereinbarung zwischen dem Rechteinhaber, in der Regel Verlage, und der Bibliothek – bestimmt und fixiert werden.

 

TIB → Und was genau sind dabei Ihre Aufgaben, die Ihrer Kolleg:innen und der TIB?

Pöche → Die Aufgabe besteht in dem Abschluss dieser Lizenzen mit Verlagen und Fachgesellschaften. Dafür müssen wir Angebote einholen, Kosten in Relation zu eingeräumten Nutzungsrechten setzen, Verträge prüfen und natürlich auch immer wieder über Verbesserungen verhandeln. Da wir nicht nur Universitätsbibliothek, sondern auch Zentrale Fachbibliothek sind, haben wir einen ganz speziellen Bedarf hinsichtlich der Nutzungsrechte – das macht die Lizenzabschlüsse neben der schieren Menge und den vielen Anbietern aus verschiedenen Teilen der Welt so kompliziert.
Das alles macht natürlich nicht das Referat Lizenzen allein, sondern in enger Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Teams aus dem Bereich Erwerbung und Katalogisierung.

 

TIB → Rückblickend gesehen – wie hat sich die Bedeutung von Lizenzen im Bibliotheksalltag verändert? Und noch interessanter: Wie wird sie sich in den kommenden Jahren entwickeln und welche Auswirkungen hat das auf die Arbeit der TIB?

Pöche → Print ist zumindest im Bereich der TIB-Fächer ein auslaufendes Modell. Die Anbieter setzen inzwischen oft ausschließlich auf elektronische Produkte, die Kundinnen und Kunden wünschen digitale Inhalte und auch die TIB hat eine E-Preferred-Strategie. Wir haben die Zeiten, als es eine digitale Version als Bonus zum Kauf eines Printexemplars dazu gab, schon länger hinter uns gelassen. Der Erwerbungsprozess ist dabei deutlich anspruchsvoller geworden und auch die Anforderungen an das Personal sind gestiegen. Erhöhte Komplexität gibt es auch hinsichtlich der Bereitstellung von Inhalten. Damit jede und jeder in der Bibliothek weiß, was man mit dem jeweiligen E-Book oder der elektronischen Ausgabe einer Zeitschrift machen darf, müssen die Lizenzinformationen, also die Nutzungsrechte, dokumentiert und kommuniziert werden.

 

Um noch einmal den Vergleich mit Print aufzunehmen: Wenn man 100 gedruckte Bücher kauft, gelten für alle Bücher die gleichen Nutzungsmöglichkeiten. Wenn man 100 E-Books erwirbt, kommen mit etwas Pech 100 unterschiedliche Lizenzvereinbarungen mit variierenden Nutzungsrechten dabei heraus.

Der Blick nach vorn ist extrem spannend. Die Open-Access-Transformation hat deutlich an Fahrt aufgenommen. Die Zahl der frei verfügbaren Zeitschriften, Konferenzberichte und auch Bücher wird stetig steigen. In der Folge wird der Bedarf an Verlagslizenzen wieder sinken, wenn auch nicht ganz verschwinden. Es werden noch lange Produkte existieren, insbesondere bestimmte Arten von Datenbanken, die nicht von der Open-Access-Transformation berührt werden und weiterhin lizenziert werden müssen.

Und selbst wenn die Anzahl der Lizenzverhandlungen irgendwann abnimmt, wird es, solange es kommerzielle Anbieter gibt, einen Bedarf an Verhandlungen mit diesen geben – dann eben seltener über Lizenzen, dafür umso häufiger über Dienstleistungen im Publikationsprozess und deren Finanzierung.

Die Open-Access-Transformation oder besser das gewünschte Ergebnis des Prozesses hat natürlich nicht nur Auswirkungen auf den Lizenzbereich, sondern betrifft die TIB insgesamt. Die freie Verfügbarkeit von Fachinformationen schafft ganz neue Bedarfe bei den Forschenden, auf die die TIB mit einer stärkeren Ausrichtung auf Dienstleistungen reagieren muss

ALLES AUS EINER HAND DIE KONFERENZDIENSTLEISTUNGEN DER TIB

Mehr Sichtbarkeit für Konferenzen, Tagungen, Symposien und Workshops: Für Konferenzveranstalter:innen gibt es von der TIB ein Rundum-sorglos-Paket mit umfassenden Services. Der TIB-Konferenzaufzeichnungsdienst bietet Video-Aufzeichnungen von Konferenzbeiträgen, Video-Produktion sowie Livestreaming auf Veranstaltungen. Im TIB AV-Portal können diese und andere Vorträge dauerhaft verfügbar gemacht werden. Und auf der 2021 gestarteten Open-Access-Publikationsplattform TIB Open Publishing können wissenschaftliche Zeitschriften und Konferenzpublikationen Open Access veröffentlicht werden.

Zum Artikel

VIDAL WIRD PROFESSORIN AN DER LEIBNIZ UNIVERSITÄT WIE DAS POTENTIAL VON DATEN FÜR DIE LÖSUNG GESELLSCHAFTLICHER HERAUSFORDERUNGEN GENUZT WERDEN KANN

Prof. Dr. Maria-Esther Vidal ist seit dem 1. August 2021 Professorin für „Scientific Data Management“ am Institut für Verteilte Systeme der Fakultät für Elektrotechnik und Informatik an der Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH).

HERZLICHEN GLÜCKWUNSCH!

Sie forscht zum Datenmanagement großer Daten und zeigt, welche Möglichkeiten Datenanalysen für Medizin, Lebenswissenschaften und Industrie bietet. Bereits seit 2017 leitet die Informatikerin Prof. Dr. Maria-Esther Vidal die Forschungsgruppe „Scientific Data Management“ an der TIB und ist Mitglied des Forschungszentrums L3S der LUH.

Zum Artikel
98
DRITTMITTELPROJEKTE
DAVON 23 EU-PROJEKTE
EINGEWORBENE DRITTMITTEL
25,3 MIO. EURO
245
PROJEKTPARTNER:INNEN

ORIGINALE SCHÜTZEN, ZUGANG ERMÖGLICHEN AUFBEREITUNG DER BEGLEITMATERIALIEN DER ENCYCLOPAEDIA CINEMATOGRAPHICA

Zur Encyclopaedia Cinematographica gehören circa 2.000 wissenschaftliche ethnologische Filme vom Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts bis in die 1980er-Jahre, die kulturelles Brauchtum wie Musik und Tanz, Religion sowie Heilkunde und vieles mehr zeigen. Zur Sammlung gehört neben den Filmen umfangreiches Begleitmaterial: 300 Aktenordner mit Redaktions- und Produktionsakten, Begleitpublikationen in mehr als 100 Aktenordnern, 3.500 lose Hefte sowie ein Fotoarchiv mit hunderten Fotos, Negativen und Dias. „Die Begleitmaterialien sind wirklich etwas Besonderes, sie enthalten sozusagen das Making-of der Filme und damit wichtige Informationen für ein besseres Verständnis der Filme. Begleitmaterialien und Filme gehören zusammen wie zwei Seiten einer Medaille“, erklärt Miriam Reiche, Restauratorin und Koordinatorin Bestandserhaltung an der TIB.

Derzeit ist die Nutzung der Begleitmaterialien nur sehr eingeschränkt möglich, da die Akten durch die jahrzehntelange nicht bestandsgerechte Aufbewahrung sehr fragil sind und nur unter strengen Auflagen eingesehen werden können. Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien fördert nun ein Projekt, das diese Materialien durch Umverpackung vor weiteren Schäden schützen soll: Sie werden „entmetallisiert“ – Büro- und Heftklammern, die das Papier schädigen, werden entfernt – und in archivgerechte Verpackungen umgebettet. „Das ist ein erster Schritt, um Forschenden diese kulturhistorisch wichtigen Materialien zugänglich zu machen“, freut sich Thomas Bähr, Leitung Bestandserhaltung und Langzeitarchivierung an der TIB.

Die Filme der Encyclopaedia Cinematographica wurden bereits digitalisiert und sind im AV-Portal der TIB verfügbar.

EIN NEUES DESIGN FÜR DEN WEBAUFTRITT DER TIB RELAUNCH MIT VERBESSERTER NAVIGATION UND EINEM MODERNEREN LAYOUT

Mehr als fünf Jahre ist es her, dass die TIB sich eine neues „Gesicht“ – ein neues Corporate Design – gegeben hat. Das war 2016, zeitgleich mit der Stiftungswerdung. Nun ist des wieder soweit: der Webauftritt der TIB präsentiert sich im neuen Design. Seit 2016 ist viel passiert. Die TIB setzt bei ihrer Ausrichtung verstärkt auf Openness – auf „offene Wissenschaft“. Forschungsbereiche wurden auf- und ausgebaut, die Open-Access-Transformation schritt voran, viele neue Dienste und Angebote wie das AV-Portal, der Konferenzaufzeichnungsdienst ConRec, die Open-Access-Publikationsplattform TIB Open Publishing und das OER-Portal twillo für offene und freie Lehr- und Lernmaterialien sind entstanden oder wurden weiterentwickelt. All dies hat die TIB bei der Neugestaltung ihrer Webseite berücksichtigt.

Schauen Sie selbst: www.tib.eu

VERSTEHEN AUF KNOPFDRUCK WIE NUTZER:INNEN BEI LERNVIDEOS DIE PAUSENFUNKTION NUTZEN

Wie berechnet man den Sauerstoffgehalt von Wasser? Wie arbeitet die Europäische Union? Diese und viele weitere Fragen werden in unzähligen Videos auf verschiedenen Internet-Plattformen beantwortet, zu deren prominentesten Vertreterinnen YouTube zählt. Doch wie nutzen Menschen solche Lernvideos eigentlich? Wissenschaftler:innen des Leibniz-Instituts für Wissensmedien (IWM), des Deutschen Instituts für Erwachsenenbildung (DIE) sowie der TIB haben in einem interdisziplinären Forschungsprojekt erste Hinweise darauf gefunden, wann und warum Nutzer:innen von Online-Videoplattformen die Pausenfunktion nutzen.

AUTHENTISCHE NUTZUNGSDATEN ALS MEILENSTEIN FÜR KÜNFTIGE FORSCHUNG

Mit authentischen Video-Nutzungsdaten des TIB AV-Portals untersuchten die Forschenden, wann und vor allem warum Nutzer:innen Lernvideos stoppen. Das Ergebnis: an besonders komplizierten Stellen sowie zwischen verschiedenen inhaltlichen Sequenzen. Die Erkenntnisse können bei der Konzeption von Lernvideos berücksichtigt werden: Durch das automatische Setzen von Pausen oder das Einblenden von Verständnisfragen an entsprechenden Stellen im Video können komplexe Inhalte für die Nutzer:innen verständlicher dargestellt werden.

Zum Artikel

 

 

 

#vBIB21: DIGITALE COMMUNITYS EIN MAL IST KEIN MAL – ZWEI MAL IST EINE REIHE: TIB UND BIB SETZEN VIRTUELLE KONFERENZ FORT

Am 1. und 2. Dezember 2021 startete die zweite Ausgabe der #vBIB. Diesmal drehte sich bei der virtuellen Konferenz alles um „Digitale Communitys“. Ein kleiner Auszug aus dem Programm für die 300 Teilnehmer:innen: R. David Lankes, Professor für Bibliothekswesen an der University of Texas, sprach über „New Librarianship and Our Better Angels“. Als leidenschaftlicher Verfechter der Bibliothekar:innen thematisierte er deren Rolle in der heutigen Gesellschaft und zeigte, wie sich ihre Aufgaben in den vergangenen Jahren verändert haben und wie sie sich auch in Zukunft weiter verändern werden. Der Experte für Urheberrecht und Kommunikationsfreiheit sowie ehemalige EU-Abgeordnete Felix Reda setzte sich in einer Session mit den Rahmenbedingungen für das Handeln in digitalen Communitys auseinander und Alexander Möller von Wikimedia sprach über die Diversität weltweiter globaler Communitys bei Wikimedia.

Neu waren im zweiten Jahr der #vBIB die interaktiven Formate Speakers Corner und Tech Corner. Die Speakers Corner bot Raum für Kurzvorträge, Konzept-Ideen, Thesen, Fragen und Antworten, Diskussionen und vieles mehr rund um das Thema Digitale Communitys, bei der Tech Corner standen Webdienste, Tools, Software und Mock-ups zur Beteiligung an Communitys sowie zur Unterstützung des Community Buildings und Managements im Mittelpunkt.

Die #vBIB21 verpasst? Kein Problem! Im TIB AV-Portal gibt‘s die Beiträge zum Anschauen.

TIB-PITCH MIT DR. ANNA-LENA LORENZ WIE DIE TIB MIT DEM ORKG DIE WEITERGABE VON WISSEN REVOLUTIONIEREN WILL

Neue Formen des Wissensaustausches in der Forschung: Wissenschaftliche Arbeit wird – wie schon in den letzten Jahrhunderten – auch heute noch hauptsächlich durch Publikationen in Form von Texten kommuniziert. In Zeiten stetig steigender Publikationszahlen wird es für Forscher:innen jedoch immer schwieriger, den Überblick über die für sie relevante wissenschaftliche Literatur zu behalten. Der Open Research Knowledge Graph (ORKG) zielt darauf ab, dieses Problem zu lösen. Er beschreibt wissenschaftliche Arbeiten strukturiert und macht die eigentlichen Inhalte und nicht nur die bibliographischen Metadaten der Publikationen sowohl Menschen als auch für Maschinen lesbar und FAIR – also auffindbar (findable), zugänglich (accessible), interoperabel (interoperable) und wiederverwendbar (reusable).

Video abspielen

 

Ein großer Erfolg: Bilanz des ersten „ORKG Curation Grant“-Programms der TIB

2021 kuratierten neun Forscher:innen aus Technik und Naturwissenschaften Inhalte für den Open Research Knowledge Graph (ORKG) und trieben damit Open Science in ihrem Bereich voran.

Zum Artikel

BILDNACHWEISE
Fotos und Illustrationen, die nicht kenntlich gemacht werden, sind Eigentum der TIB.
ILLUSTRATIONEN (alle): Jonas Hauss
VERSTEHEN AUF KNOPFDRUCK / Animation: tenor.com/intoaction
MEHR ZUR TIB  / Hintergrundbild: shutterstock/IR Stone

arrow-left arrow-right arrow