OUR
HIGHLIGHTS
OF THE YEAR

OPEN SCIENCE LAB A “UNIVERSITY GEM”

TIB’s Open Science Lab shows how digital collections can be opened up and linked to facilitate better use of their content. The Lab provides support to scholars who use the internet as a public space for research, teaching and learning. Stifterverband designates this innovative project “Open Science University Gem” of the month in January.

ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE IN LOWER SAXONY

Minister President Stephan Weil’s first stop on his journey through Lower Saxony on the topic of artificial intelligence (AI) takes him to L3S Research Center at Leibniz Universität Hannover. At a “speed dating” event there, he finds out about AI research. TIB Director Professor Dr. Sören Auer presents the Open Research Knowledge Graph (ORKG), a tool that aims to facilitate knowledge sharing in scientific communication in the future.

TIB IN TIMES OF THE PANDEMIC

In early 2020, the Coronavirus was still a distant phenomenon in China. Now it has found its way to Germany and to Hannover. TIB closes its doors in mid-March. However, the library continues to provide information via a number of servicesTIB Document Delivery, online ordering and on-site collection, as well as numerous electronic services, webinars and online consultations. Many employees leave their offices behind them and start working from home.

CRISIS MANAGEMENT TEXTBOOK

The Academy of Public Health Services and TIB’s Open Science Lab make available, under open access conditions, the textbook “Krisenmanagement – Lehrbuch für den Öffentlichen Gesundheitsdienst” (Crisis management – Textbook for the public health service). It provides practical tips on how public health departments and other healthcare institutions can prepare for handling crisis situations, and covers the basics of crisis management. The textbook was realised in the context of a Book Sprint, a method of agile knowledge generation.

RESEARCH DATA TO ALL!

Research data provide a wealth of information – a valuable resource for science and research. To harness this great potential, data must be publicly accessible and reusable. This is the aim of the planned “National Research Data Infrastructure” (NFDI). Three consortia, involving TIB as co-applicant, receive funding within the (NFDI) initiative.

SHARING AMONG UNIVERSITY TEACHERS!

Whether individual visualisations, videos, podcasts, scripts, course materials or complete lectures – Open Educational Resources (or OER for short) can be of a very wide variety. Twillo, a sustainable OER portal for sharing open educational resources (or OER for short), enters the Beta testing phase. Teaching staff from Lower Saxony’s higher education institutions can now fill the portal with high-quality content.

#vBIB20 – THE VIRTUAL CONFERENCE

At times when it is not possible to meet in person for further training or for professional and social interaction, the Berufsverband Information Bibliothek and TIB team up to organise #vBIB20 – the virtual conference on libraries, information institutions and all those who work for such organisations. Three days, almost 70 hours of input, more than 100 contributions and over 3,000 registrations – #vBIB20 is a resounding success.

“LIBRARY OF THE YEAR 2020”

The German Library Association and Deutsche Telekom Stiftung designate TIB “Library of the Year 2020” in recognition of its outstanding work. In doing so, they recognise the library work undertaken at TIB in the field of open science, open access, research data and digital preservation, as well as its development of services at the interface between analogue and digital formats. We are delighted and grateful to receive this tremendous award!

WHAT IS FACT, AND WHAT IS FAKE?

Professor Dr. Ralph Ewerth is fellow of the “Multimodal Rhetoric in Online Media Communications” research group, which investigates how false news stories arise in social media. TIB’s tools help in the analysis of large volumes of news. These tools indicate whether the text and images contained in a news article contain the same information, divergent information or even contradictory information.

MAKING GESTAPO CRIMES VISIBLE

Where in present-day Lower Saxony were places of Gestapo terror located? Which buildings did the political police use during National Socialism? How did transport services and routes affect the selection of sites at that time? Answers to these questions are to be provided within “Places of Gestapo terror in present-day Lower Saxony”, a collaborative project being undertaken by the Lower Saxony Memorials Foundation and TIB.

TIB ONCE AGAIN DESIGNATED

TIB is awarded the Open Library Badge 2020 for its commitment to greater openness in science and society. Having met ten criteria, TIB is the badge holder with the most criteria ever met. The few remaining outstanding issues, such as the lack of a completely barrier-free website, are currently being addressed. TIB is keen to embed the concept of openness even more firmly at the library, including in areas that are not among traditional open science topics.

FALLING WALLS 2020

Professor Dr. Sören Auer is among the finalists at the Falling Walls Conference 2020: thanks to his Knowledge Graph project on Open Research Knowledge Graphs (ORKG) he is nominated in the “Science and Innovation Management” category. The TIB is currently reinventing scholarly communication. Instead of representing research in static PDF articles, the TIB works on a dynamic knowledge graph – the Open Research Knowledge Graph. Using a dynamic knowledge graph, various research ideas, approaches, methods and results are to be connected and presented in a machine-readable form. In this way, completely new connections of knowledge can be revealed.

CODING DA VINCI NIEDERSACHSEN 2020

The culture hackathon connects the worlds of culture and technology. Diversity and record-breaking figures characterise the digital kick-off meeting in Hannover: Never before were so many data sets (45) from so many cultural institutions (36) up for vote; never before were so many digital communication tools (6) used at once; and never before did the presenter have to stand alone in such an empty room, despite 200 registered guests. Following a highly intense phase of the project, four outstanding projects received awards in January 2021.

MICKY LINDLAR RECEIVES AWARD

Micky Lindlar receives the DPC Fellowship award from the Digital Preservation Coalition (DPC) on World Digital Preservation Day – 5 November 2020. The highest award given by the DPC is conferred in recognition of a substantial and outstanding contribution to safeguarding digital heritage. Congratulations!

SCIENCE AWARD FOR MARIA-ESTHER VIDAL

This year’s Stifterverband Science Award “Society Needs Science” goes to Professor (Univ. Simón Bolívar) Dr. Maria-Esther Vidal, Head of the Scientific Data Management research group at TIB. The award honours the computer scientist’s work on scientific data management. For example, the consolidation of extensive and heterogeneous datasets promises to pave the way for numerous new approaches for the treatment of diseases.

MORE THAN 30,000 VIDEOS

TIB celebrates reaching the 30,000 mark – the number of scientific videos contained in its AV-Portal. A substantial number! The quality-tested videos embody science in its audiovisual diversity – originating mainly from the fields of engineering as well as architecture, chemistry, computer science, mathematics and physics.

UNSERE
HIGHLIGHTS
DES JAHRES

OPEN SCIENCE LAB IST „HOCHSCHULPERLE“

Das Open Science Lab der TIB zeigt, wie sich digitale Sammlungen öffnen und vernetzen lassen, um Inhalte besser nutzen zu können. Es unterstützt Wissenschaftler:innen, die beim Forschen, Lehren und Lernen das Internet als öffentlichen Raum nutzen. Der Stifterverband zeichnet dieses innovative Projekt mit der „Hochschulperle Offene Wissenschaft“ des Monats Januar aus.

 

KÜNSTLICHE INTELLIGENZ IN NIEDERSACHSEN

Der erste Stopp seiner Reise durch Niedersachsen zum Thema Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) führt Ministerpräsident Stephan Weil ans Forschungszentrum L3S der Leibniz Universität Hannover. Dort informiert er sich beim „Speed Dating“ über KI-Forschung. TIB-Direktor Prof. Dr. Sören Auer präsentiert den Open Research Knowledge Graph (ORKG), einen Wissensgraphen, der den Wissensaustausch in der wissenschaftlichen Kommunikation in Zukunft erleichtern soll.

DIE TIB IN ZEITEN DER PANDEMIE

Anfang 2020 war das Coronavirus noch weit weg in China. Nun ist es in Deutschland und in Hannover angekommen. Die TIB schließt Mitte März ihre Türen. Ihre Infomationsversorgung hält sie jedoch mit verschiedenen Angeboten aufrecht – mit der Online-Bestellung von Literatur und der Abholung vor Ort, mit der TIB-Dokumentlieferung sowie mit zahlreichen elektronischen Angeboten, Webinaren und Online-Sprechstunden. Viele Mitarbeiter:innen ziehen ins Home Office um und arbeiten von Zuhause aus.

KRISENMANAGEMENT-LEHRBUCH

Die Akademie für Öffentliches Gesundheitswesen und das Open Science Lab der TIB stellen das Lehrbuch „Krisenmanagement – Lehrbuch für den Öffentlichen Gesundheitsdienst“ Open Access zur Verfügung. Es enthält praktische Tipps, wie sich Gesundheitsämter und andere Einrichtungen des Gesundheitswesens auf Krisensituationen vorbereiten können, und vermittelt Grundlagen des Krisenmanagements. Das Handbuch ist im Rahmen eines Book Sprints realisiert worden, einem Verfahren der agilen Wissensgenerierung.

FORSCHUNGSDATENSCHÄTZE FÜR ALLE!

Forschungsdaten sind wahre Datenschätze – eine wertvolle Ressource für Wissenschaft und Forschung. Damit dieses große Potenzial auch nutzbar ist, müssen die Daten öffentlich zugänglich und systematisch erschlossen sein. Dieses Ziel hat die geplante „Nationale Forschungsdateninfrastruktur“ (NFDI). Drei Konsortien, an denen die TIB als Mitantragstellerin beteiligt ist, werden im Rahmen der Initiative NFDI gefördert.

TEILEN IN DER HOCHSCHULLEHRE!

Ob einzelne Visualisierungen, Videos, Podcasts, Skripte, Kursmaterialien oder komplette Vorlesungen – sogenannte Open Educational Resources (OER) können ganz unterschiedlicher Natur sein. Das OER-Portal twillo, eine nachhaltige Plattform für den Austausch von freien Bildungsressourcen, startet seine Beta-Testphase. Lehrende der niedersächsischen Hochschulen können das Portal nun mit hochwertigem Inhalt füllen.

#vBIB20 – DIE VIRTUELLE KONFERENZ

In Zeiten, in denen persönliche Treffen zu Fortbildung, fachlichem und sozialem Austausch nicht möglich sind, veranstalten der Berufsverband Information Bibliothek (BIB) und die TIB gemeinsam die #vBIB20 – die virtuelle Konferenz rund um Bibliotheken, Informationseinrichtungen und alle, die für sie arbeiten. Drei Tage, fast 70 Stunden Programm, mehr als 100 Beiträge und über 3.000 Anmeldungen – die #vBIB2020 ist ein voller Erfolg.

„BIBLIOTHEK DES JAHRES 2020“

Der Deutsche Bibliotheksverband und die Deutsche Telekom Stiftung zeichnen die TIB für ihre herausragende Arbeit als „Bibliothek des Jahres 2020“ aus. Damit würdigen sie die Bibliotheksarbeit der TIB im Bereich Open Science, Open Access, Forschungsdaten und der digitalen Langzeitarchivierung sowie ihre Entwicklungen von Services an der Schnittstelle von analogen und digitalen Formaten. Wir freuen uns und sagen Danke für diese tolle Auszeichnung!

WAS IST FAKT, WAS IST FAKE?

Prof. Dr. Ralph Ewerth ist Fellow der Forschungsgruppe „Multimodale Rhetorik in der Onlinemedien-Kommunikation“, die untersucht, wie Falschnachrichten in sozialen Medien entstehen. Die Werkzeuge der TIB helfen bei der Analyse großer Nachrichtenmengen. Sie geben Hinweise, ob Text und Bild in einer Nachricht die gleichen, voneinander abweichende oder sogar sich widersprechende Informationen enthalten.

VERBRECHEN DER GESTAPO SICHTBAR MACHEN

Wo befanden sich Orte des Gestapoterrors im heutigen Niedersachsen? Welche Gebäude nutzte die politische Polizei während des Nationalsozialismus? Welche Bedeutung hatten Verkehrsmittel und -wege für die damalige Standortwahl? Antworten auf diese Fragen soll das Projekt „Orte des Gestapoterrors im heutigen Niedersachsen“ geben, das die Stiftung niedersächsische Gedenkstätten und die TIB gemeinsam durchführen.

ERNEUT OPEN LIBRARY BADGE FÜR DIE TIB

Für ihren Einsatz für mehr Offenheit in Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft erhält die TIB den Open Library Badge 2020. Mit zehn Kriterien erfüllt sie die meisten Kriterien unter allen bisherigen Badge-Träger:innen. An den wenigen noch offenen Punkten, wie der barrierefreien Gestaltung der Webseite, wird gerade gearbeitet. Die TIB will den Gedanken der Offenheit auch in Bereichen abseits klassischer Open-Science-Themen noch stärker verankern.

FALLING WALLS 2020

Prof. Dr. Sören Auer ist Finalist bei der Falling Walls Conference 2020. In der Kategorie „Science and Innovation Management“ ist er mit dem Wissensgraph-Projekt Open Research Knowledge Graph (ORKG) nominiert. Die TIB denkt dabei Wissenskommunikation neu: Statt auf statische PDFs setzt sie auf Wissensgraphen. Wissen unterschiedlichster Form – Texte, Bilder, Videos, 3D-Modelle und vieles mehr – soll mithilfe von Wissensgraphen vernetzt werden. Diese sollen verschiedene Forschungsideen, -methoden und -ergebnisse maschinenlesbar darstellen, sodass völlig neue Zusammenhänge von Wissen zutage treten.

CODING DA VINCI NIEDERSACHSEN 2020

Der Kultur-Hackathon vernetzt die Kultur- und die Technikwelt. Vielfalt und Rekorde zeichnen das digitale Kick-off-Treffen in Hannover aus: Noch nie standen so viele Datensets (45) aus so vielen Kulturinstitutionen (36) zur Wahl, noch nie kamen so viele digitale Kommunikationstools (6) auf einmal zum Einsatz und noch nie stand ein Moderator vor einem so leeren Raum, obwohl fast 200 Gäste angemeldet waren. Nach einer sehr intensiven Projektphase wurden im Januar 2021 vier herausragende Projekte ausgezeichnet.

MICKY LINDLAR AUSGEZEICHNET

Micky Lindlar bekommt am World Digital Preservation Day – am 5. November 2020 – die DPC Fellowship von der Digital Preservation Coalition (DPC). Die höchste Auszeichnung der DPC gibt es als Anerkennung für einen bedeutenden und herausragenden Beitrag zur Sicherung des digitalen Erbes. Herzlichen Glückwunsch!

WISSENSCHAFTSPREIS FÜR MARIA-ESTHER VIDAL

Der Wissenschaftspreis des Stifterverbandes für die Deutsche Wissenschaft „Forschung in Verantwortung“ geht in diesem Jahr an Prof. (Univ. Simón Bolívar) Dr. Maria-Esther Vidal, Leiterin der Forschungsgruppe Scientific Data Management der TIB. Die Auszeichnung würdigt die Arbeiten der Informatikerin zum wissenschaftlichen Datenmanagement. So verspricht beispielsweise das Zusammenführen umfangreicher und heterogener Datensätze viele Ansätze für neue Behandlungsmethoden von Krankheiten.

MEHR ALS 30.000 VIDEOS

Die TIB feiert 30.000 wissenschaftliche Videos in ihrem AV-Portal. Eine beachtliche Zahl! Die Videos sind Wissenschaft in ihrer audiovisuellen Vielfalt – sie sind qualitätsgeprüft und stammen vor allem aus den Fachgebieten Technik sowie Architektur, Chemie, Informatik, Mathematik und Physik.